Magnolia School Board


The Arkansas School Boards Association (ASBA) along with Governor Sarah Sanders announced that January is School Board Member Recognition Month in Arkansas.  School board members play an essential role in their community. Magnolia will join other districts in Arkansas in celebration of our board by thanking them for the time, talents, and knowledge they bring to our district and for their commitment to the families and children of our community.

“Our board members assume a crucial role in representing our students and advocating for public education,” said Superintendent John Ward. “They give Magnolia citizens a voice in education decision-making and while we make a special effort to show our appreciation in January, their contribution is a year-round commitment.”  “We are very proud of our members, and Arkansas School Board Recognition Month is a great time to recognize them and celebrate their accomplishments.”

The members serving on the Magnolia School Board are Mike Waters, president; Steven Souter, vice-president; Emily Jester, secretary; Jason Ray, member; and Caroline Waller, member.

As publicly elected school leaders, Arkansas school board members set policy for their respective districts. Under state law, they are empowered to hire and evaluate the superintendent, oversee district finances, approve the budget, and determine the vision and mission of the district. School boards must also approve the curriculum and ensure the district maintains adequate facilities for teaching and learning.

 These dedicated individuals are committed to the well-being and success of every child, recognizing that quality education is tailored to the individual needs of each student.

Magnolia School Board members pictured L to R: Caroline Waller; Mike Waters; Emily Jester; John Ward, Superintendent; Jason Ray; and Steven Souter