MHS Seniors Qualify for Governor's Distinguished Scholarship

Five Magnolia High School seniors have been awarded the 2020 Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship. Those receiving the scholarships are Gabrielle Bulliard, Adam Pieratt, Parker Williams, Abbigail Young, and Kevin Zhao.

Students meeting the minimum eligibility criteria are eligible to be named Governor’s Distinguished Scholars. The student must earn either a 32 composite score on a single ACT or 1410 combined math and critical reasoning score on a single SAT and either a 3.50 academic grade point average or be selected as a National Achievement Finalist or National Merit Finalist. Financial need of the student is not a factor in the award of the scholarship, therefore no financial information is required.  The Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship pays up to $10,000 per year for tuition, mandatory fees, room and board.  The scholarship is disbursed by the institution the student is attending and apportioned according to that institution’s academic terms. The student must be enrolled in at least 15 semester credit hours (12 semester credit hours the fall term of the freshman year) to receive funds for that term.